The magic of lace

Lace knitters out there know this already, but it feels like sweet sweet victory when you take that rumpled and wrinkled mess of yarn you’ve been working on and stretch it out with blocking. In my case I can just stick a foot in it.

These socks are Bell Flower Boogie by Julie Nandorfy. I’m making this with Regia Silk in color 55 “Artikblau”. I’ve had this in my stash for a couple of years. It’s really soft, but I’ve made so many things this color lately. I’m giving this away as a present soon, so it won’t be just aqua, turquoise, and seafoam TAKING OVER MY KNITTED WARDROBE, I swear.

I’m doing them both at once, of course. The lace is pretty easy to do sans chart after about one repeat. The pattern is free and actually written to be toe-up so I didn’t even have to transform it.

I think I’m going to have to do some cuff-down socks soon because I purchased the Knit.Sock.Love e-book last night and those socks are worth changing my ways for. That woman (Cookie A) is a friggin’ genius! They all blow my mind. Those are the kinds of socks that could keep a girl up at night.

14 thoughts on “The magic of lace

  1. I still love the color (although I can understand wanting to have a little variety within a wardrobe) the socks are awesome. I have never done toe up socks nor have I ever tackled TAAT, so this seems even more impressive. As a big lace fan I understand the awesomeness of working with it, made even better because you don’t have to block it to see the effects of the work. Great job!

  2. I love both – the colour and the pattern. 😀 Nice!
    Usually, I knit socks top-down, but I think I’ll try it the other way round soon … But with an easy pattern first. 😉

  3. I do the same thing with my wardrobe – I get one nice thing in a pretty color, and all of the sudden I’m making everything in that color range. It really takes a conscious effort to keep my wardrobe from going monochromatic!

  4. Cookie A. is a genius. My sister is getting her Daphne socks for Christmas, and I can’t wait to knit them – I know it’s going to be so much fun.

What do you think?

