Tiny knits are the cutest ones.

Zooey’s first cardigan is finished! It’s the Tiny Rocky Coast by Hannah Fettig. I made the 6 month size and added some length to the sleeves and body, as well as some width to the collar so she could hopefully wear it for a couple of months. She’s only 3 months, but it already fits pretty well. I’m learning that baby sizes can vary widely.

I struggled to get a picture before she started to drool all over the bow and sweater. She’s a well-hydrated baby. I loved knitting this sweater. Tiny knits are satisfying since they fly by so quickly. I used Colinette Jitterbug in Elephant’s Daydream. I went down one needle size for gauge.

I can’t wait to make an adult version for myself. I chose this color for myself. It’s difficult to tell if it will coordinate with hers at all, since it’s a bit of a guess how it will look in person, but I figured I’d be wearing mine much longer than she will wear hers, so I should pick something that I’m really into. It will be my NaKniSweMo project this year. I don’t know if I will finish it in a single month since my knitting time is interrupted by baby time, but since I did this last year in sock weight yarn, I’ll cut myself some slack if I don’t finish.

I’ll have a finished Socktober pair tomorrow even if I have to stay up tonight and finish them. Luckily, I’m ready for the final inch or so of ribbing, so it should be easy to do.

15 thoughts on “Tiny knits are the cutest ones.

  1. great work, lady! i love the color you chose for her and yourself! you’ll have to keep me posted on how the fingering weight adult version turns out!

  2. Love it. And I think co-ordinating colours in the same pattern is sufficiently matchy. Plus, you’ll get to watch people do double-takes when they realize.

  3. Pingback: Wednesday, child, is full of woe. « knit the hell out

What do you think?

