Losing the war on pink.

little oak-8

Okay, okay, pink is not a bad color. It’s really quite pleasant and flattering to many complexions. My “war” in this case is the one I’m waging against pretty much all clothing for baby girls. I know there are gender neutral options out there, but Matt and I have been very fortunate to receive a lot of hand-me-down items from friends and relatives so we haven’t selected most of Zooey’s clothing. Many of these items are pink. Most of the clothing in stores for girls is splashed with either pink or purple. We can’t afford to wage our gender neutral clothing war right now. 

little oak-2

I have also discovered that Zooey looks excellent in mauve, purple, and now this color, which Colinette dubs “Whirley Fig.” Yep, I knit her a baby pink sweater and I actually love it a lot.

 

The sweater is Little Oak by Alana Dakos. It is one of the Coastal Kids series. I love all of the sweaters in the series, and will probably make the Wee Wildflower next as a spring sweater.

little oak-4

For this sweater I used Colinette Jitterbug, one of my favorite fingering weight standbys. It washes well, wears well, they have fantastic colors, and good yardage. It’s a bit thicker than some other fingering yarns, coming in at 150 grams for 400 yards rather than ~100 grams for 400 yards. It’s wonderful to be able to make her sweaters out of a single skein of sock yarn right now. 

I made the width for the 6 month size, but my gauge was about 26 sts in 4 inches, rather than the 28 called for in the pattern, so it’s a bit wider. Zooey is now 5.5 months, so this should work for the rest of the winter and early spring with the extra width. I also added extra length to the body and sleeves. I ended up making the body 1/4″ longer than the 12 month size called for, and made the sleeves the length called for in the 12 month size also. Sleeves can always be rolled for a bit. It’s got a little room for her to grow. We have the sleeves rolled a bit for now.

I couldn’t resist this perfect capture of Z’s incessant drooling. I hope she doesn’t hate me for it someday.

little oak-6

The oak cabling is pretty fun to do. It seems a lot like the cable on the Creature Comforts Cardi. I love cabling that has more of an organic shape to it like this. 

14 thoughts on “Losing the war on pink.

  1. I know what you mean about pink being the only option for baby girls. My niece never gets pink things from me and my brother and sister in law hate the pink thing too. If I’m buying and not making something I often have to get stuff from the “boys” section which usually have all the gender neutral garments. Crazy isn’t it? Who says grey and green, yellow and red are for boys???? It makes my blood boil. Having said all that, that is a very pretty shade of pink. It is a lovely gentle shade.

  2. Your daughter is gorgeous!

    I hear you on the pink! The worst bit is that it just creeps in, no matter how hard you try. I always try to knit in different colours, but I too admit to crocheting my daughter a pink cardigan last winter. I’ve another planned for this coming winter. I figure – if it’s going to be pink, I may as well like the style.

  3. oh how absolutely gorgeous your daughter is! the first photograph is precious indeed … and you’ve inspired me too, as I’m fairly anti-pink, though can see some of it’s beauty in your cardigan … food for thought!

  4. This is so adorable. I’ve seen this sweater before, and I love it in this colour – there’s something about the cables that balances out the potential girly-ness of the coulour. Also, awesome buttons! What a great little sweater.

    (Are you going to knit yourself the adult one for a more matchy fun?)

  5. Oh, this is a gorgeous sweater! And Zooey is SO beautiful! I hear you about the weird pink thing… I try to make baby girl gifts in untraditional colors like orange or slightly less traditional, like coral or yellow.

  6. Pingback: Heading on the Oak Trail « knit the hell out

What do you think?

