Oops…I cast on a baby sweater.

I was in a Ravelry time warp the other day…when you start browsing patterns on Ravelry and get lost and have no idea how long you’ve been browsing, but you found a whole bunch of things to favorite or put in your queue. I bumped into this little pattern. It’s called Pull Gaspard and was only available in French until recently. Thank goodness it was already translated when I found it because my French is very rusty.

pull gaspard

I think it’s knitting itself at this point. I did the garter band at the bottom of the front on Wednesday night, and then the rest of this wee sweater in progress flew by yesterday. I LOVE IT. The construction is unique and fun. The pattern sizing goes from 6 months-2years. The author, Christine Rouvillé, also makes the same pattern sized from 4-10 yrs, called Gaspard le Grand. I bought both, just in case… I’d like to figure out how to turn the sailor collar into a hood in the future.

pull gaspard-2

The yarn I’m using is Cascade 220 Superwash in Lake Chelan Heather. The color has little hints of yellow when you look at it closely. I looooove it. It’s not for Zooey. I won’t say who this is for yet, because it’s a surprise (just in case this person’s mother has started reading my blog). The pattern calls for DK, and Ravelry classifies this yarn as DK, but it’s a wee bit heavy. I went down to a size 3 needle and my gauge is still a bit big, but I’m making a 6 month size and a little bigger is better to last through next winter. Superwash is a must for babies of non-knitters. I want this sucker to be worn, and I don’t want it to be a burden for parents. I also have plans to make this for Zooey in a fantastically bright color of Cascade 220 Superwash called Sunshine Heather.

Oh, and Zooey says hi.

early april

10 thoughts on “Oops…I cast on a baby sweater.

  1. Is there anything cuter on a baby than a sailor collar? Nautical babies. Sigh. Adorable. I can’t wait to see this finished, and may have to whip one up for friends of ours who just had a baby.

  2. What an adorable pattern! It’s so unique! I made a sweater for my mom a while back in that colorway (but with Cascade Eco+)… it’s just gorgeous! Also, it seems like Zooey looks cuter in every single photo!

    • Aw thanks! I think she gets cuter amd more charming every day. I just ordered some Eco + for an Aidez sweater. Cascade yarns are awesome for the price.

  3. Every time I see little Zooey I have to smile! She is so cute.

    Can’t wait to see the finished sweater. The color is lovely.

What do you think?

