When does a sweater become a sweater?

Am I a sweater yet?

Is a sweater a sweater the moment you cast it on? Pick the yarn? Or is it only a sweater when it reaches a certain amount of knitting that makes it recognizable as a sweater?

The other night I was switching from one project to another and I asked Matt to “hand me the sweater.” I meant the Goodale I started and was only about 18 rows into knitting. He looked confused. I pointed at the orange chunk of knitting. He said, “That’s not a sweater.” In my mind it was already a sweater.

Um, scratch that. I just found a mistake. It looks like I miscounted from the beginning when I placed markers for increases. I’m going to rip out what I have, so this will temporarily not be a sweater and it will temporarily return to the yarn void.

9 thoughts on “When does a sweater become a sweater?

  1. I find that my projects are all just ‘my knitting’ until they are ready for wear and I can prance around in them feeling smug … Assuming they are grown-up items!

  2. Pingback: Another embryonic sweater | knit the hell out

What do you think?

