Kiddo knits for a quick fix

Last year I lauded the merits of baby knits in fingering weight yarn. This year I have discovered that worsted weight sweaters are even insanely faster. Seriously. I’m sure I will still knit plenty of sweaters in fingering weight, because there are a gazillion cute options in the world, but I’m loving the quick gratification of worsted weight sweaters.

I started an Abate pullover for Zooey. I remembered this Classic Elite Renaissance Heather was still in my stash. I planned to swap it at a stash swap at my LYS last month, but no one was interested. Perfect for Abate. The heathered element of the yarn gives the simple pullover a little more oomph.

abate

I allowed myself to skip the swatch, since I’d just gotten this gauge in worsted weight on another swatch, so I cast on. I was through the raglan increases in a matter of hours. I’m on a size 7 needle to get the 18 sts over 4 inches called for in the pattern. I think this designer must be as tight a knitter as I am a loose knitter, because the pattern calls for a size 10 to get this gauge. That just shows you how different our individual tensions can all be.

Having many WIPs going gives me a thrill. I picked up my yarn for Blank Canvas yesterday from my LYS. I’m tempted to cast on, but I think I’ll wait a bit till something is off the needles, or closer to being off. I will finish up Little Fox this week, I swear.

7 thoughts on “Kiddo knits for a quick fix

  1. This is such a great colour for a toddler! (I can’t believe I’m saying that about baby Z!) Good luck that no one wanted it, eh?

What do you think?

