Baby’s first rejected knitwear

peachick-5This is the first piece of knitwear that Z has refused to wear.  Even on days when there’s a bit of chill in the morning, she’s just not interested.  It’s called Peachick Eyes Cardigan, and it was a quick and fun knit.  The pattern includes a long sleeve option as well.  Luckily, I made this quite a bit bigger than she’s wearing now, so it’s likely she will be able to wear it through next year.  peachick-4She has no problem with Bear wearing the sweater.  We love to dress Bear.  The jacket she’s holding is one that looks like a child size Member’s Only jacket with a hood for rain.  She’s obsessed with it lately.  Even when she’s not wearing it, she’s often carrying it around with her.  Here’s some evidence from my Instagram feedScreen Shot 2014-06-11 at 4.16.28 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 4.16.43 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 4.16.59 PM

peachick-6The yarn is Colinette Jitterbug in Elephant’s Daydream.  I’ve used this yarn a few times, and I adore this color.

peachick-3If I get her in this sweater, I’ll try my best to snap a picture.

25 thoughts on “Baby’s first rejected knitwear

  1. My daughter refuses to wear something I knitted for her where she picked the pattern and the wool! But the enthusiasm for what I knit and sew for her that she like outweighs the odd dud.

  2. It’s gorgeous!! I just love how often you post, I imagine it’s a lot of work to maintain your blog. Thank you so much for sharing and inspiring us with your knits and entertaining writing🙂

  3. My daughter only wants to wear the baby hats that are FAR too small for her, not the ones that actually fit her.

  4. The sweater is beautiful. My preschool age daughter also has refused to wear my knitted or hand made pieces. I remember for Halloween one year I made her a gorgeous red cape for a little red riding hood costume. She kicked and screamed and would not wear it. Kinda makes your heart sink a bit. lol

  5. She probably will love it once it is too small for her.
    Reminds me when I bought a pair of lovely pink sweaters for my daughter, just when she decided she hated pink. Am I glad I did not knit them at the time, but at least I would have been able to reclaim the yarn.
    This green is so beautiful, I do hope she decides to wear it, it would look great on her. The design is really lovely.

  6. Oh no–but it’s so cute! At least it’s approved for the bear to wear🙂
    (and as a cat lover, I totally cracked up when I saw how the cat was sleeping in the background)

  7. I have three kids (now 12, 17 and 19) and knit for them a lot when they were little. I finally stopped because they just wouldn’t wear what I made. It is heartbreaking to go through all that work and they just aren’t interested. I hope someday they will be. The 19 year old asked for a college sweater so I made that for him last summer and he loves it. There is hope yet! Your knitting is lovely, by the way.

What do you think?

