Proof of sweater

I wanted to get pictures of my brother in his finished Hugo, but I gave him the sweater when I saw him over the weekend and it just didn’t work out. It does fit, though it has some negative ease in the chest and arms I wasn’t quite anticipating. All in all my brother is happy with it and I got to hand it off before he goes back to the soon-to-be-tundra Minnesota. Fortunately, as a precaution for the upcoming busy weekend, I took some shots of Matt in the sweater. Here he is looking a bit like a Sad Etsy Boyfriend.

 

Hugo-3 The yarn is Cascade 220 in Japanese Maple. I used about 6.5 skeins of it for this sweater. This time I used snaps instead of buttons as I did for Matt’s. I like the snaps. I think I’d stick with that if I made this sweater a third time (but I probably won’t).  Hugo-2 I love this color on Matt. See how much he loves modeling for me when he’d rather be drinking coffee on a Saturday morning? HugoI’m glad this is off my knitting plate. I’m thisclose to finishing Carpino and I think I shall be starting something new soon. I keep thinking about doing some baby knits for Charlotte, but I haven’t really been inspired by something I have to make right this minute (which is about as long as a knit for a 5 month old takes compared to adult stuff) so I’m waiting to be struck by a gorgeous piece of pattern inspiration. Or maybe I’ll dream something up.

19 thoughts on “Proof of sweater

  1. dude, that sweater is incredible!!! Love the Etsy boyfriend comparison, I laughed as soon as you said that. Seriously, though- that sweater is bloody amazing.

  2. This is gorgeous! The color is amazing and it’s a great pattern. I love learning new textures and stitch patterns but have yet to make a sweater because of the cost of buying enough yarn. When I work up the nerve, I want to make something like this, with lots of exciting textures! Thanks for the inspiration.

What do you think?

