48 hour pants

48 hour pants-4I started these pants around noon on Wednesday and finished them around that time on Friday. Last week I attended a conference and was lucky enough to be a passenger in a carpool situation, giving me ample knitting time. Knitting during conference sessions and in the hotel room during down time also gave me some good hours of knitting. 48 hour pantsThe pattern is a much altered Ze Tiny Pants. You can read a previous post for basic construction details. For these I used two full skeins of Koigu P237S. With a size 4 needle I cast on 98 stitches for the ribbing and increased to 108 after the ribbing. I made mirrored increases every six rows three times. After the increases in the front were finished and I was satisfied with the length, I did some short rows in the back to make a nice baby booty curve. This was all pretty fast and loose and I didn’t write down all the details. After separating for legs I did decreases every 4th row until I had 50 stitches for each leg. I continued until legs measured about 9″ from crotch to bottom of leg, then did ribbing for about 1.5 inches until I was almost out of yarn. 48 hour pants-2I would call this a nine month size. I started out making these for Charlotte, but then thought they would fit my friend’s kiddo, Henry, much better so gave them to him. They are cozy soft and will hopefully last him until spring. On Charlotte the pants needed two large roll ups at the bottom to work. On Henry a fold just a bit past the ribbing was required to make them fit well. He also wears cloth diapers and I was very happy to see they still fit with the added diaper bulk. 48 hour pants-5Of course, I immediately cast on a new pair for Charlotte. Look at me, already distracted from Keaton! There’s nothing like a cold snap that makes me want to start warming up little people with knits. 48 hour pants-3I just hope little Henry is as pumped about these as Charlotte is!

20 thoughts on “48 hour pants

  1. Those are fantastic! Plus, it doesn’t hurt to have a grinning baby for a model. The thought of knit pants for an adult is a little concerning (saggy bottoms on adults, not so cute), but with babies, having that extra room for a diaper seems like a good idea. Are you finding any problems with saggy butts with your baby pants? Any strategies?

  2. These pics of Charlotte in the pants are crazy adorable! And worry not—Henry is SO thrilled with his new pants! I don’t know who loves them more, him or me! They’re gorgeous. Thank you SOOOOO much, Cassy!

  3. OMGosh, she is darling! I love her new pants. I love how you used a variegate colourway which looks so much more interesting than what was featured on its project page.

  4. Pingback: Magic pants? | knit the hell out

What do you think?

