Whatcha swatchin’

I wasn’t feeling inspired by many men’s knits recently. I knit Matt a sweater every year (sometimes two) but this year I wasn’t feeling the sweater mojo when it came to a guy sweater till about a week and a half ago. I love my LYS and the knitters that often frequent it. One of these knitters is a college senior named Levi, whose fingers fly and conquer Kaffe Fassett intarsia blankets and deliciously cabled sweaters like they’reΒ no big deal. We have a similar love of Brooklyn Tweed patterns and recently I saw him knitting a Rift. I feel in love with that pattern instantly and went home excited to tell Matt that I was ready to knit for him again.

whelter-3I decided it was time to try Shelter. It comes in so many amazing colors. Matt and I settled on this gorgeous Faded Quilt, a grey-blue with little teal flecks. So far I have been pleasantly surprised.swatch

While I had heard that Shelter is more delicate, it’s not like it falls apart while you are knitting it. If you pull on it to break a strand it breaks easily, but I had no issues while knitting my swatches. It felt fluffy and bouncy while knitting the swatches. Before washing my swatches it seemed like I was going to have to go down two needle sizes to a US 5 to make gauge, but somehow after washing and letting them dry unpinned the size US 6 swatch came out perfectly. I will be casting on very soon, but I can’t forget about Z’s “wing sweater” because we talk about it often.

19 thoughts on “Whatcha swatchin’

  1. Lovely! I have a hat knitted in Shelter, and the yarn has come apart on the tight long tail CO edge. Everywhere else, it is awesome, so next time I will use a cast on with more give!

  2. That pattern looks amazing, but a little above my skill level, I’m going to bookmark it for later in my knitting career. My other half is dying for me to knit him a jumper or some socks, this year is the year! I promise!

  3. This really looks fantastic! The whool AND the models you linked in your article. Will you provide some pictures of your “shelter-sweater”? I’d love to see them!

  4. Ohhhh, beautiful … I asked Philipp whether I could knit him a sweater, but he told me, maybe, after I “practiced” on one or two of my own! Pfff! πŸ˜‰

    I love the colour you picked for this sweater it’s an absolutely lovely, lovely blue! Plus, it looks soft …

    • te-he. Ahh, we’ll go slowly. πŸ˜‰ It took him two years until he started to wear handknit socks, and now he loves them to pieces and has REQUESTED a pair and starts to pick out yarn for them … It’s great. I’ll give him time and finish my second sweater and then we’ll wait and see. πŸ˜‰

What do you think?

