Market Dress!

market dress-15

I have a new dress pattern! It’s called Market Dress and I’m so happy with the result. It’s available for a limited time for 25% off on my Ravelry page. Just use the code HAPPYSUMMER in your cart to apply the discount. This pattern uses Dishie by KnitPicks, a very hardwearing worsted weight cotton yarn with high twist, perfect for children’s garments. Right now it’s on sale and even the largest size (6yr) can be made for $12 in yarn costs. The pattern includes sizes for ages 3 months through age 6.

market dress-11

We visit the farmer’s market in our town almost every Saturday morning. It’s a family ritual that I look forward to every weekend, and I often bound out of bed and demand everyone get ready so we can go before the heat becomes intolerable. We get delicious produce, flowers, and sometimes Zooey talks us into muffin and popsicle purchases if she’s being especially persuasive. We listen to local musicians, wander through the beautiful garden on the town square, and inevitably run into many of our friends. What’s not to love? The love of being at the farmer’s market was the inspiration for this dress. I wanted the girls to have something they could wear in hot summer months that could withstand serious play. market dress-19I’m also thrilled to have made a dress that Zooey asks to wear. She was eagerly awaiting the day I let her wear it, since I finished her dress first. I made her wait until I had Charlotte’s done too and could take pictures of them both in the dresses. We were up and at the market shortly after 7am on this day and the light was perfect. market dress-21This dress is knit in once piece from the bottom up and has a chevron detail to add some extra fun. It’s appropriate for the adventurous beginner and beyond, requiring just a little knowledge of shaping. market dress-13Though I didn’t get a picture of this, the 12 month size is actually big enough that Zooey can wear it as a tank top, so I feel confident that these pieces will be with the girls for some time. In the fall and winter they would be lovely layered over some leggings and a long-sleeved top. market dress-9 Zooey could not stop twirling in her dress. I love it. I’m so happy to make clothes that excite my kiddos.

Go check out the pattern page or .

 

2 thoughts on “Market Dress!

  1. Cassy! This is the little-girl dress of my dreams. I seriously cannot wait to knit this up for all the littles in my life — maybe in wool as a winter tunic, and another one in cotton for summer? So perfect. And I love that Zooey is so happy with her dress. I remember the days when she refused to wear handknits and am so glad she’s past that. She and Charlotte make for adorable models.

    • Right?! Z has come a long way. Or maybe she’s just a dress girl and nothing else. I think this would be wonderful in wool too. Maybe I’ll do that come cold weather. Thanks for the lovely compliments.

What do you think?

